

# Council for Teacher Education

# Meeting Minutes September 6, 2022, 3:00-4:30 pm

**Members Present:** Nesrin Bakir, Alan Bates, Christy Bazan, Judy Bee, Sarah Boesdorfer, Jimmy Chrismon, Francis Godwyll, Phil Hash, Amy Hurd, Stacey Jones-Bock, Allison Kroesch, Cassandra Mattoon, Barb Meyer, Adena Meyers, Kathy Mountjoy, Monica Noraian, Jay Percell, Dianne Renn, Rocio Rivadeneyra, Noelle Selkow, Caitlin Stewart, Aamari Taylor, Jill Thomas, Matthew Winsor, Mark Zablocki

Absent: Diamond Crowder, Yojanna Cuenca-Carlino, Mary Henninger, Erin Mikulec, Len Sutton, Darby Wilde

Guests: Jill Donnel, Derrek Drenckpohl, Becky Beucher, Gary Higham, Troy Hinkel, Martha Horst, Terry Jackson, Barb Jacobsen, Nikki Maurer, Heidi Olsen, Mary Tackett

- I. Call to order: Monica Noraian called the meeting to order at 3:00 pm
- II. Roll Call: Kelly Brown conducted roll call.
- III. Welcome & Introductions from Academic Senate (Martha Horst): Martha described the charge of the Council for Teacher Education (CTE) as an established external committee of the Academic Senate that reports to the Academic Affairs Committee and the Provost. The primary charge is to oversee academic programs leading to licensure of teachers and other professional education personnel who work in P-12 school settings. In this role, the CTE has five primary areas of responsibility: Leadership, Liaison/Advocacy, Planning/Development, Regulation, and Reporting. Dr. Horst thanked the council members for their service.

## IV. Election of Officers

- **a. Chair**: Dr. Francis Godwyll, Dean of the College of Education, was appointed by Provost Aondover Tarhule. All in attendance were in favor.
- **b. Vice Chair**: Rocio Rivadeneyra was nominated by Dean Godwyll and seconded by Stacey Jones-Bock. All in attendance were in favor. Dr. Rivadeneyra will serve as Vice Chair.
- **c. Secretary**: Christy Bazan was nominated by Rocio Rivadeneyra and seconded by Phil Hash. All in attendance were in favor. Christy Bazan will serve as Secretary. Christy asked that members send any questions or topics that they would like to see addressed by CTE.
- V. Approval of minutes from April 19, 2022, meeting: Christy Bazan motioned to approve the minutes with Jay Percell seconding. Minutes were approved with four abstentions.
- VI. Subcommittees: Members broke out into their designated subcommittees to elect their Chairs/Co-Chairs as well as their secretaries. They reviewed the bylaws, duties, past successes, works-in-progress, and current charges. It was requested that calendar invites be shared with the individual groups for communication purposes.

### VII. Information Items

a. CTE member responsibility: Monica Noraian shared that regular attendance is expected by members, but in those cases that they are unable to be there it is acceptable to send a designee. The designee will be non-voting but able to bring discussion topics on the member's behalf. Please advise of any absences in advance if possible.

Being new to the College, Dean Godwyll requested the opinion of the group as to the strength of CTE/COE collaboration with programs. Phil Hash offered that it is always good to have more communication. Simple issues can sometimes come up that make for feeling of disconnection. The Dean would like to be very intentional and more inclusive in our language to avoid any unintentional sense of disconnection. He plans to promote interdisciplinary projects.

- **b. CTE Materials**: will be available at the meetings and added to the members' Outlook calendar meeting invite.
- VIII. Discussion Items: none
- IX. Action Items: none
- X. Legislative Updates: No current updates as the legislature is not in session. Dean Godwyll noted that there are issues percolating regarding alternative licensure that will call for a different mindset. We will work to stay ahead of things with innovative ideas.

#### XI. Announcements and Last Comments:

a. Becky Beucher, Director of The Barbara and Larry Efaw Center for Educator Excellence described the goals of the center which supports teacher education students and alums in their development as excellent educators across the educator lifespan.

The Efaw Center provides individualized attention, focused learning communities, and special event programming for all teacher education students.

Success services focus on academic assistance and enrichment, peer connections and community building, and referrals with follow up to existing campus resources. The Efaw Center acknowledges that barriers to academic success can be addressed through proactively offering a holistic approach to support services. Further, the Efaw Center embraces ISU values related to equity, diversity, and inclusion and collaborates closely with the EDI Officer. Efaw staff work collaboratively with faculty, staff, and students across campus who interact with teacher education students to support the teacher education student and leader lifespan. The goal is to create a space that encourages growth in a positive environment. Located in DeGarmo 19 (Lower/Garden Level), the center is available 9:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m. Monday – Thursday; 9:00 a.m. – 3:00 p.m. Friday

- b. Monica Noraian advised the group of the upcoming Regional Office of Education Short-Term Substitute Signup event at the Alumni Center from 1-3 pm on Thursday, October 6<sup>th</sup>. Students with 60+ credit hours completed can obtain licensure as a short-term sub. Program approval is required.
- c. Dean Godwyll asked that programs consider submitting proposals to increase the number of IDEAS courses.

#### XII. Adjournment: 4:10 pm

Motion: Allison Kroesch Second: Sarah Boesdorfer

Next CTE Executive Board Meeting: September 13, 2022, 2:00-3:00 pm DEG 506A

Next CTE Subcommittee Meetings: September 13, 2022

Curriculum: Chair, Erin Mikulec (DEG 304) 3:00-4:30 pm

University Liaison and Faculty Interests: Chair, Len Sutton (DEG 504) 3:00-4:30 pm

University Teacher Education Assessment Committee: Chair, Christy Bazan (DEG 551) 3:00-4:30 pm

Vision: Chair, Jill Thomas (DEG 506A) 3:00-4:30 pm

Next CTF meeting: September 20, 2022 (DEG 551) 3:00-4:30 pm

Student Interests: Chair, Jay Percell (STV 140) 3:00-4:30pm

CTE (1 <sup>st</sup> and 3 <sup>rd</sup> Tuesdays) DEG 551	Exec & Subcommittees (2 <sup>nd</sup> and 4 <sup>th</sup> Tuesdays)	
Sept. 6	Sept. 13	
Sept. 20	Sept. 27	
Oct. 4	Oct. 11	
Oct. 18	Oct 25	
Nov. 1	Nov. 8	
Nov. 15	Nov. 22	
Dec. 6	Dec. 13	
Jan. 17	Jan. 24	
Feb. 7	Feb. 14	
Feb. 21	Feb. 28	
March 7	Spring Break	
March 21	March 28	
April 4	April 11	
April 18	April 25	
May 2	May 9	