

# Council for Teacher Education

## Meeting Minutes May 2, 2023, 3:00-4:30 pm

Members Present: Christie Angleton, Nesrin Bakir, Alan Bates, Christy Bazan, Judy Bee, Sarah Boesdorfer, Jimmy Chrismon, Derrek Drenckpohl for Yojanna Cuenca-Carlino, Phil Hash, Mary Henninger, Amy Hurd, Jeongae Kang, Allison Kroesch, Miranda Lin, Adena Meyers, Kathy Mountjoy, Monica Noraian, Jay Percell, Rocio Rivadeneyra, Caitlin Stewart, Jill Thomas

**Absent:** Francis Godwyll, Stacey Jones-Bock, Cassandra Mattoon, Dianne Renn, Noelle Selkow, Aamari Taylor, Darby Wilde, Matthew Winsor, Diane Zosky

Guests: Jill Donnel, Gary Higham, Troy Hinkel, Barb Jacobsen, Heidi Olsen, Mary Tackett, Laurie Sexton

- I. Call to order: Rocio Rivadeneyra called the meeting to order at 3:00 pm
- II. Roll Call: Kelly Brown conducted a roll call.
- **III. Approval of minutes from April 18, 2023, meeting**: Sarah Boesdorfer motioned to approve the minutes with Jay Percell as the second. There were three abstentions; all others present were in favor. The minutes were approved.

#### IV. Information Items:

- I. **Content Test Waivers** The Cecilia J. Lauby Teacher Education Center recently provided to all licensure programs (undergraduate & graduate) \$25 vouchers to be distributed to students to help with the high cost of content tests that are required for licensure. The total number provided to programs was based on program enrollment numbers 800 total purchased.
- II. **Year End updates about Licensure** Troy Hinkel shared a document detailing the number of student teachers that have yet to pass the content tests required for licensure. Deadlines were provided. Eligibility for student teaching is contingent on completion. Troy requested help from departments to inform their students of these important dates. Also included in this update were disposition concern numbers.
- III. Thank you to all who served this year on CTE. Your time, effort, and thoughtful perspectives are appreciated.
- IV. Service Terms Expiring 2023 Student: Aamari Taylor, CTE Chair: Dean Francis Godwyll, EAF Chair: Diane Zosky, Faculty: Nesrin Bakir, Sarah Boesdorfer, Mary Henninger, Jay Percell, Caitlin Stewart, Jeongae Kang (the 3-year terms are renewal based on the bylaws). Programs have been contacted to determine their plans for representation in the new year.

#### V. Subcommittees

- **I. Curriculum: Mary Henninger** –The committee did not have a quorum to vote on several minor curriculum change requests but will proceed at the next meeting.
- II. Student Interests: Jay Percell Five winners were chosen for the CTE Student Excellence Award.
- III. University Liaison and Faculty Interests: Yojanna Cuenca-Carlino Nothing to report.
- IV. University Teacher Education Assessment: Christy Bazan See Discussion Item below.
- V. Vision: Jill Thomas Working with Cathy Savitzky from the Office of Technology Solutions for mapping out new disposition concerns.

### VI. Discussion Items:

- I. University Teacher Education Assessment Committee Updates Discussing CAEP closure process. They will continue to collect data regarding Content Tests, Lesson Plan Key Assessments, CPAST, and PreCPAST dispositions. They are shifting the reporting of AAR data to align with Title II. It will not occur in November as it has in the past.
- II. **Diversity, Equity, & Belonging follow-up**: from conversations to action. Program follow-up or survey; continue to look for ways to make students feel valued, seen, and loved.
- VII. Action Items: none
- VIII. Legislative Updates: none
  - I. Faiths Law Employment History Review and ISU implications

### **Required ISBE Template Forms:**

105 ILCS 5/22-94 required ISBE to create form templates to be used by school districts when conducting an employment history review. General information provided by ISBE concerning misconduct by licensed educators can be reviewed at: https://www.isbe.net/educatorquality. The ISBE-created templates can be downloaded here:

- Sexual Misconduct Disclosure Template for an Applicant
- Authorization for Release of Sexual Misconduct-Related Information

While these templates can be modified as needed, it is important that any form developed for use includes the minimum information required by statute as contained in the templates.

#### IX. Announcements and Last Comments:

- I. Subcommittee Chairs are expected to send a year-in-review summary (in bullet points or narrative) by May 15. These overviews will be submitted as part of the CTE end-of-year report, which gets presented to the Senate.
- II. SAVE the DATE for AAC-ED's end-of-year,

**Chat with Troy Hinkel Zoom Session.** 

A one-hour Q & A and new updates about teacher education at Illinois State University.

Monday, May 15th from 1:00-2:00 pm.

Join Zoom Meeting

https://illinoisstate.zoom.us/j/94155160348

X. Adjournment: 4:30 pm Motion made by Phil Hash, seconded by Allison Kroesch; All in Favor

Next CTE Executive Board Meeting: No further meetings during this academic term.

Next CTE Subcommittee Meetings: May 9, 2023 meetings are optional based on committee need.

Curriculum: co-chairs, Noelle Selkow & Mary Henninger (DEG 304) 3:30-4:30 pm

University Liaison and Faculty Interests: Chair, Yojanna Cuenca-Carlino (DEG 504) 3:00-4:30 pm

University Teacher Education Assessment Committee: Co-Chairs, Christy Bazan & Monica Noraian (DEG 551) 3:00-4:30 pm

Vision: Chair, Jill Thomas (DEG 506A) 3:00-4:30 pm (alternative room DEG 52)

**Student Interests:** Chair, Jay Percell (STV 140) 3:30-4:30 pm Next CTE meeting: No further meetings during this academic term.

CTE (1st and 3rd Tuesdays) DEG 551	Exec & Subcommittees (2 <sup>nd</sup> and 4 <sup>th</sup> Tuesdays)
	May 9 – use if necessary or helpful (committee report due May 15)